Orchestra North East Concert

Gala Theatre






Prokofiev: Excerpts from the ballet Romeo and Juliet

Shostakovich: Cello Concerto no.1

Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances


Soloist: Christopher Murray (cello)

Conductor: Michael Bawtree.


Welcoming back conductor Michael Bawtree, the Orchestra presents a concert of music by three outstanding Russian composers from the twentieth century. The programme opens with excerpts from Prokofiev’s stunning ballet, Romeo and Juliet, and we are pleased to have Christopher Murray as our soloist in the exciting First Cello Concerto of Shostakovich. Christopher is a member of the award winning Heath Quartet as well as a being a professor at London’s Guildhall. The programme concludes with Rachmaninov’s dramatic Symphonic Dances, perhaps the nearest he came to writing for the ballet.


Full details of the concert can be found at


Individual Tickets for the concert are available from The Box Office in the Gala Theatre Durham on 03000 266600 or


Prices: Adults £16; Concessions £14; £8 students; 17s and under £3 unaccompanied, £1 with an adult.  

More events in Durham city